Fostering Inclusion

06/20/2020

Summary 

Dean Betsy Sandlin defines inclusion, explaining that it is an action and an ongoing process. She shares about her own journey and gives advice on how to foster inclusion on an everyday basis. 

Video Transcript

Hi everyone. I'm Betsy Sandlin. I am a professor of Spanish and Associate Dean for Inclusion and Faculty Development at Sewanee. And I've been here for 16 years. I've been asked to talk today about ways to foster inclusion in everyday life. And first I think we need to define the term inclusion as we use it in higher education, at least. While diversity has to do with the range of different identities that are present in our community, inclusion is about fostering a sense of belonging for everyone. Inclusion is working to ensure that all the diverse individuals who make up Sewanee feel respected, heard, supported, and vital to our learning community. When we work toward inclusion, then, we're working toward an environment where the diverse identities, perspectives and experiences of our students, faculty, and staff are not only welcomed, but understood and valued as integral to who we are and what we do.

This is something we strive for every day at an institutional level. And of course we're not perfect at it, and we're working at it, and getting better at it all the time. But it's also something we can do on an individual level and think about how to do in the spaces that we navigate. It's taken me a long time to feel comfortable sharing my own story, but that's one way that I can help create an inclusive campus. If I can share my own narrative, then I open the way for others to feel safe sharing theirs, as well. I grew up in a working class family in rural south-central Kentucky, and I was the first in my family to go to college, and I'll admit it wasn't easy. In fact, I often felt like an impostor and that feeling has followed me throughout my life, even now.

I also grew up, unfortunately, in a community where I heard racist, homophobic, misogynistic, xenophobic ideas, and language all the time. And I say that because an important part of my own journey has been learning to recognize and working to push against and undo the biases that I internalized from an early age. So why do I tell you all this now? Because I want you to know that this work is ongoing, that it's a process, and that it is never done. So how do I, and how do we actively and intentionally work together to build spaces of inclusion, whether in the classroom, in meetings, in social situations, or just in our daily interactions. 

So first, as I've already alluded to, is this process of self-reflection. As I mentioned, start reflecting on your own narrative. Wrestle with it. Come to terms with it. Become aware of your own biases. Only then can you work to learn new patterns. And two, talk a lot less and listen a whole lot more, and that is so hard for all of us on a college campus. I try to remember the acronym, WAIT, W.A.I.T, which stands for, "Why am I talking?" And I ask myself this often. Am I merely performing in some way that ultimately benefits me? Or am I genuinely contributing to the conversation? For example, I tend to get energized when I'm surrounded by good ideas, but I know that because of who I am, because of my position here, because of my white privilege, my voice can carry more weight, especially in certain spaces. So, I'm trying to be really thoughtful about when and how I use my voice. I'm careful to wait and speak, for example, to ask a clarifying question or point out a perspective that isn't being considered, or invite others into the conversation. 

And when I do speak, I also think about my language. Am I signaling acceptance and using inclusive language? Or am I excluding with my words. Am I validating and adding to other's ideas? Or am I just restating them? And what assumptions related to ability, sexuality, race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, class, religion, language am I making about people when I hear them speak, or when I talk to them, or when I meet them for the first time. I'm trying to watch out for my inner voice, tuning into it and pushing against it when I need to.

And three, you'll hear this one again and again, but I'm going to go ahead and repeat it anyway. And that is, educate yourself. Use your position of privilege as a college student to read all you can. Take those classes with the challenging titles. Participate in the events we have on campus about race, class and gender. Have the tough conversations. Don't be afraid to make mistakes. You will. And I do all the time, but it's important not to shy away from what is uncomfortable. Lean into it with an open heart and an open mind. 

And four, find accountability partners. I have a few of these in my life here on campus, and I trust them, and they trust me to call each other out when needed. We read each other's drafts of emails, for example, for inclusive language. We observe each other in meetings. We debrief challenging interactions. And we check in with each other. I read somewhere that diversity is a fact while inclusion is an action. And I really like that idea. I appreciate this opportunity to share a bit of my story and my perspective with you. And I hope we can all work together toward action as we strive for a more inclusive campus. Thanks.


COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT HOUSE
© 2020 THE COHO
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started